One – Me, Myself and Evidence Based Learning Strategies

Right, so our class made and presented presentations about the Learning Scientists 6 learning strategies for effective studying habits. All of the learning strategies are researched and studied by the cognitive scientists themselves. So, they argue what we thought we knew about studying with logic and science, so they’re real credible.

 

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I believe in the power of open-mindedness. My mind will always be open to suggestions and to change my thinking, so I especially welcome new opportunities to learn how to learn better.  Having presentations done by students around my age, with similar ideas and ways of thinking, makes understanding the strategies better and more appealing.

I have a super duper amazing habit of never studying. And when I do, I study by cramming it all into 2 days, usually at 11 pm. This means I’ve suffered the trap of remembering information for a test then forgetting it immediately after. This is why I think that I’m going to let the evidence-based learning strategies change the way and methods I use to study.

I’ve been really convinced by interleaving and retrieval practice, along with what I know about my own presentation about spaced practice. I find that these three strategies work well together and it makes sense. When you space out your learning, you cant remember everything you learn between study sessions so you practice “forgetting and relearning” information that “better ingrains it in your memory”. All the while you switch between subjects that way you can keep your mind engaged without boring yourself on one subject. They just work together.

This is what I plan to adopt the next time exams or tests come ’round.

0 Replies to “One – Me, Myself and Evidence Based Learning Strategies”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *